Everyday Invalidations The Kubler Ross Change Curve

This post will touch on the grief model of psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler Ross as it applies to change.  Death and dying are the final act of change for our lives here and with that change event comes emotional reactions.  There are feelings or sequence of affect stages one will pass via the change event.

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

There are 3 aspects to a change event in my opinion:

the event itself or project

the people aspect of the event-who is involved and how do they make sense or not of this

the emotional spectrum of the people involved in the event-their reactions and feelings

Part of my interest this late in life is the anger piece of the model.  How many change events or initiatives are stalled or fail due to anger and resentment of those impacted or involved?  Anger is energy and requires an outlet and meaning to be processed.  I don’t think it will simply go away over time nor will 100 memos about the change event help.  Anger by itself along with its close cousin resentment need meaning and catharsis to transmute them into power to support change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s